Do this, not that.  Wear this, not that.  Eat this, not that.  Say this, not that.

Mind. Your. Own. Business. I am so tired of being told what I should be doing according to someone else’s ideals.  What ever happened to living an authentic life for yourself?  Nowadays we are so concerned with what we should be doing that we don’t simply do things that make us happier.

A couple of years ago I was in Georgia visiting my [ex] mother-in-law.  I asked one of her daughters what she thought about a hairstyle I was thinking about getting.  I asked her if she thought it would be appropriate and she said, “Who cares?  If you like it, do it.”  Ever since then I try to live my life how I want.  I also try to withhold judgment of others based on what they look like, what their hair looks like, what they’re wearing, etc.  It’s none of my business.  If it makes them happy, rock on!  Isn’t that what life is about?

In my opinion, it seems as though everything we do needs to be categorized somehow.  Right or wrong, cool or uncool, sexy or ugly.  Why?  I just read an article about being single and while I agreed with some of the points I strongly disagreed with others.  The writer, in my opinion, was trying to justify being single and at times, putting down those in relationships.  There is no need.  No way is more right or wrong than the other.  Do you and just #myob.  Why is it so hard to just live life and not try to justify why you or your way is better than someone else’s?

My personal philosophy is simple.  Do, wear, say, and think whatever it is that makes you happy as long as it doesn’t harm anyone or anything else.  Simple.  Who cares what the retailers tell you you should be wearing it?  If it makes you feel like a goddamn rock star, wear it!  To me, there’s nothing more bad ass than feeling like your best self and living authentically for you.

 

